Solo Awards

The Solo program has two individual discipline awards that may be given out after the conclusion of the season by the Solo ARE. Nominations may be received from participants, region members, or Solo Board members.

Soloist of the Year

“Each year a special trophy shall be awarded to an individual who has displayed special and inexhaustible energies for the benefit of the Solo program. This person may be nominated from the group as a whole or from the Solo Board, and will be chosen by vote of the Solo Board. The recipient may not be that year’s Solo Chairman. It is highly recommended that this person have at one time served on the Solo Board. The vote is to be secret, and the results held in confidence until the annual Texas Region Awards Banquet. A perennial trophy has been provided that will carry the names of past winners and will be retained by the award winner until the following year’s banquet. The recipient should also receive a year- end plaque inscribed with the words “SOLOIST OF THE YEAR” and bearing that year’s date.”

2022 – Tim Boesche2023 – Brian Brooks & Kevin Garpne
2020 – Tim Bergin2021 – The Bass Family
2018 – Taylor Burnidge2019 – Miles Furlong
2016 – Hal Collins2017 – Ann Bergin
2014 – Sherrie Ledbetter2015 – Gary Kramar
2012 – Jerrett Jan2013 – Jennifer Maxcy
2010 – Mark Berry2011 – Mark Mortham
2008 – Bob Neff2009 – Tim Bergin
2006 – Gerry Terranova2007 – Greg Piper
2004 – Phil Adams2005 – Matt Lucas
2002 – Dennis Rothermich2003 – Janis Hernandez
2000 – Donaleigh Engstrom2001 – Eddie Hernandez
1998 – Marty Smith1999 – Kurt Janish
1996 – Marty Smith1997 – Neal Bellamy & Bud Collins
1994 – Peter Fehn1995 – Jim Griffin
1992 – George Curl1993 – John Banks
1990 – Pat Laurie1991 – Tommy Saunders
1988 – Neal Bellamy1989 – Craig Hamilton
1986 – Bill Thompson1987 – Peter Fehn
1984 – Richard Bonheim1985 – Steve Finigan

Rookie of the Year

“The Solo Chairman may choose to acknowledge a first-year participant with a “Rookie of the Year” award at the annual awards ceremony. Any such recipient is selected by the Solo Chairman, who may or may not solicit inputs/nominations from the Solo Board at his or her discretion. Candidates will have displayed a high level of success or improvement throughout the year as well as a willingness to be a good ambassador for the sport. Other characteristics may include: a willingness to get involved in club operations, consistently assisting with event preparation and/or management, excellent sportsmanship, and a general willingness to get involved and advance the club and the sport.”